Advertise on CBF

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Lewis Mcmanus incident  (Read 9228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ProCricketer1982

Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #30 on: April 15, 2021, 07:32:05 PM »

Do you every time walk, when you nick it?
before umpire's finger🤔

Yes

As soon as you know the catch is taken waddle off
Logged

ProCricketer1982

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7425
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #31 on: April 15, 2021, 07:33:58 PM »

I imagine if we put this to a test with hotspot, snicko, etc we would find this is nonsense.

Only need to watch a few games worth of highlights to find batsmen reviewing ones they've feathered, do you think they believe they can 'beat' the technology? Or do you believe you're the only person in the history of the game who has never nicked one and not realised?

Usually they think theyve hit it (ground, pad).

Still, this sadly is one of the things that people are ether happy to stand, appeal etc or play honestly. It divides the game and can be muted as a reason why games turn nasty or put people off playing.

So simple to fix too
Logged

Rez

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #32 on: April 15, 2021, 07:38:37 PM »

I don't think we can say that not walking is cheating since there is no law stating that if a batsman believes he has hit the ball he must walk.

What we have here is a morality issue and we all live our lives very differently. What is black and white for one person is a grey area for another and if there is no specific law governing the act, it can't be labelled as cheating.

Personally, I'm a walker. Always have been and always will be. If I know 100% (and as others have stated you can't always be but if I'm certain) that I hit it, gloved it.... whatever and the umpire doesn't give it, I'm still walking because I know that I am out.

McManus must have known what he was doing but carried it through, he had a chance to call the bat back. For me it is not exactly the same as someone [knowingly] snicking one and not walking. Whilst I feel that both are immoral acts, one is cheating and the other is just poor sportsmanship.
Logged

Bats_Entertainment

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 4347
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #33 on: April 15, 2021, 07:46:30 PM »

Usually they think theyve hit it (ground, pad).

Still, this sadly is one of the things that people are ether happy to stand, appeal etc or play honestly. It divides the game and can be muted as a reason why games turn nasty or put people off playing.

So simple to fix too

You think it should there should be something written into the laws?
Logged

Jimbo

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2370
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #34 on: April 15, 2021, 07:47:08 PM »

Usually they think theyve hit it (ground, pad).

Still, this sadly is one of the things that people are ether happy to stand, appeal etc or play honestly. It divides the game and can be muted as a reason why games turn nasty or put people off playing.

So simple to fix too

So you're acknowledging that elite cricketers who play for a living don't always know whether they've hit the ball or not?
Logged

Bats_Entertainment

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 4347
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #35 on: April 15, 2021, 07:51:16 PM »

I have heard some some that they always know. And even suggest that anyone saying otherwise is lying.

I think it would be possible to feather a ball without knowing, but it would be a very rare occurance.
Logged

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #36 on: April 15, 2021, 07:54:07 PM »

Yes

As soon as you know the catch is taken waddle off
Same here, good thing about this is that oppos appreciate it and you feel good, even getting out 😀
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2021, 07:55:15 PM »

I don't think we can say that not walking is cheating since there is no law stating that if a batsman believes he has hit the ball he must walk.

What we have here is a morality issue and we all live our lives very differently. What is black and white for one person is a grey area for another and if there is no specific law governing the act, it can't be labelled as cheating.

Personally, I'm a walker. Always have been and always will be. If I know 100% (and as others have stated you can't always be but if I'm certain) that I hit it, gloved it.... whatever and the umpire doesn't give it, I'm still walking because I know that I am out.

McManus must have known what he was doing but carried it through, he had a chance to call the bat back. For me it is not exactly the same as someone [knowingly] snicking one and not walking. Whilst I feel that both are immoral acts, one is cheating and the other is just poor sportsmanship.
Well said 👍
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!

Kai

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #38 on: April 15, 2021, 08:00:53 PM »


I think it would be possible to feather a ball without knowing, but it would be a very rare occurance.

Agree, 99% of the time you know you've nicked it or not. But I remember this one time when I was given out for nicking while driving and I was absolutely shocked cause I felt like I definitely hadn't nicked it but even my partner said I did so yeah.
Logged

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #39 on: April 15, 2021, 08:01:31 PM »

I have heard some some that they always know. And even suggest that anyone saying otherwise is lying.

I think it would be possible to feather a ball without knowing, but it would be a very rare occurance.
It might be that the keeper sees the ball so close to the bar and thinks it's a nick and goes in the air for a caught behind, while it's not nicked.
Otherwise it seems very unlikely that a batsman doesn't know that he hasn't nicked it.
In other words, according to Jeffrey Boycott, if a batsman doesn't look behind he's not nicked it!
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #40 on: April 15, 2021, 08:05:33 PM »

I'm no chest but I don't walk ever it the umpire job to give me out not mine.

Call it cheating whatever them the rules my job to bat his is to make a decision however there one cabiat.. never moan about a bad decison as it his job and like players umpires make mistakes too
That's one way of doing things 🙂
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #41 on: April 15, 2021, 08:11:33 PM »

At club level,
do you think it has to do with playing games:
1x week or 3/4x week?
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!

procricket

  • International Superstar
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14359
  • Trade Count: (+33)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #42 on: April 15, 2021, 08:15:04 PM »

That's one way of doing things 🙂

We'll put it this way if I'm smoking them at practice feeling balanced with good movement and striking and in Saturday I feather one with no appeal I'm not walking not a chance. How many times have people seen somebody  just walk off without an appeal !!!
« Last Edit: April 15, 2021, 08:23:55 PM by procricket »
Logged
"Doubt whoever but never doubt yourself"

Jimbo

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2370
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #43 on: April 15, 2021, 08:21:44 PM »

Flipside of the walking argument in club cricket, how often do you get an absolute stinker of a decision when you know you're not out? IMO, let the umpire make the decision, don't cause a scene when you get a bad one, accept that in the long run it will probably balance itself out.
Logged

AJ2014

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lewis Mcmanus incident
« Reply #44 on: April 15, 2021, 08:52:05 PM »

If you've nicked it and everyone in the field is appealing, and you're still looking for umpire's decision? Don't think that's right attitude.
Logged
Life is shorter than my batting inning!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 

Advertise on CBF