how to use twine to bind cracks?
Advertise on CBF

Author Topic: how to use twine to bind cracks?  (Read 1472 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

brokenbat

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1607
  • Trade Count: (0)
how to use twine to bind cracks?
« on: May 20, 2014, 12:46:30 AM »

Hi guys - have heard a lot about wrapping twine around damaged areas to strengthen the bat, but is there is a particular way to do it? I.E, how do I do it to make it nice and tight? I can only think of using multiple knots during the wrapping process to ensure that the tension stays tight. Merely wrapping it around and around like one would wrap tape, doesn't seem like the right approach. Or is it??
Logged

procricket

  • International Superstar
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14204
  • Trade Count: (+32)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 06:06:30 AM »

Twine is ok but not great.

We use it in the Inital fix of a bat in conjunction with 2 prices of wood and clamps.

Some people twine toes after breakage if you do not have the spinner I wouldn't use it mate as you will not get the tension needed.

I still prefer wood glue and tape

Dave
Logged
"Doubt whoever but never doubt yourself"

brokenbat

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1607
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 01:29:53 PM »

problem with tape is that it starts to slip, and lose tension over time.
Logged

Number 11

  • County 1st XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 500
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2014, 10:54:17 PM »

Did some repairs to a mate bat the other day. glued and bound up with some sort of natural fibre string I found in the garage, similar to a heavy twine. Started off with a slip knot then wound it round as tight as I could by hand. Didn't slip at all and only left a little fuzz when I took it off. You can get some serious pressure doing it this way, it left a few dips in the edges but a sanding took care of that.
Logged

brokenbat

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1607
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2014, 01:16:58 AM »

so one slip knot in the beginning, and one at the end?
Logged

skip1973

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1514
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2014, 01:34:32 AM »

No, it's similar to binding a handle where you create a loop and pull the end back through. Binding is a fairly primitive repair these days, adds weight, can damage ball as well. How bad is the damage?
Logged

Cricket_PTY

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2014, 02:26:33 AM »

No, it's similar to binding a handle where you create a loop and pull the end back through. Binding is a fairly primitive repair these days, adds weight, can damage ball as well. How bad is the damage?


I do a knot, then apply 1 drop of glue in each edge and in the spine of the bat after that i begin wraping the twine as tight as possible, to finish the job i create a loop and pull the end back trough and apply glue again all over the twine...

For me is the best way to  reinforce cracks after repairs... i dont think it adds weight...

2 examples of bats i have repaired with twine....






Logged
"Tape losens, binding doesn't"

procricket

  • International Superstar
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14204
  • Trade Count: (+32)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2014, 06:02:57 AM »

problem with tape is that it starts to slip, and lose tension over time.

Use in conjunction with glue mate.

Same as dowel i think they create another pressure/crack point and dowel does not really add anything.
Logged
"Doubt whoever but never doubt yourself"

av2006

  • Village Cricketer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2014, 09:06:59 AM »

I recommend that you first glue down the crack and then use twine mixed with PVA glue and then put one layer of fibre tape on the twine to protect it from breaking.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 09:48:24 AM by av2006 »
Logged

Cricket_PTY

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2014, 04:51:52 PM »

Do u guys apply glue to twine after finish wrapping it ? ? ?
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 04:54:10 PM by Cricket_PTY »
Logged
"Tape losens, binding doesn't"

av2006

  • Village Cricketer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2014, 06:27:30 PM »

Do u guys apply glue to twine after finish wrapping it ? ? ?

yes PVA glue. It holds the strings together and make the binding very strong.
Logged

Kulli

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3755
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Herr Kaleun
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2018, 07:29:43 PM »

Another blast from the past topic, but what is the best way to really get the twine right when doing these sort of repairs?
Logged
They won't catch us this time! Not this time! They haven't spotted us! No, they're all snoring in their bunks! Or, you know what? They're drinking at the bar, celebrating our sinking! Not yet, my friends. Not yet!

Seniorplayer

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5512
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2018, 07:52:36 PM »

Pull tight and Slightly overlap as you bind
Logged

sarg

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1177
  • Trade Count: (0)
    • CricketBatInfo
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2018, 08:53:20 PM »

Glue, dowels and tape for me. tried binding hides further damage. Tapes don't slip that badly and do a better job.
Logged
Don't ask me how much each run costs me....

InternalTraining

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3320
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: how to use twine to bind cracks?
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2018, 10:33:09 PM »

It would be great if someone could do an instructional video or thread (with pictures) on doweling a cricket bat. Many thanks!
Logged
 

Advertise on CBF