Advertise on CBF

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: "Why do you need more than one bat?"  (Read 8915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HallamKeeper

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #60 on: January 30, 2017, 02:13:49 PM »

I've only been playing for 5 seasons, I did play when I was young but mostly tennis ball road games. I'm now on my 4th bat. My first one lasted a season, I got a century with it but it was a fairly cheap GN bat that wasn't that great. I upgraded to a Warner Kaboom because I liked to give it a thrash and thought that would maximise my hitting, I got a century with that too but it went in the splice so I got a really nice Legend but I felt it was a little too light so now I've now got a Century from my coach which is in between the weights of my two GNs. My first GN got broken when I lent it to a teammate but I wasn't that bothered.

I carry all three in my bag. The Century will be my league bat, I use the Legend for nets and the Kaboom is for T20.

If I could start again I'd go with two Century bats, one for nets and one for games. Maybe a third for when one breaks.
Logged
The artist formerly known as CalverKeeper

GoodLeave

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1062
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #61 on: January 30, 2017, 03:33:35 PM »

Logged

HallamKeeper

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #62 on: January 30, 2017, 07:58:02 PM »

Sorry not a Legend, that was a dream I had. It is an oblivion e-41, still a lot of money for a net bat, if it wasn't broken! I should have said it went in the splice too. Had both GNs repaired but not quite the same.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2017, 09:08:21 AM by HallamKeeper »
Logged
The artist formerly known as CalverKeeper

Davehugh

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #63 on: January 30, 2017, 09:51:42 PM »

Love the thread might point it in my missus direction and remind her how lucky she is 😉. I have three bats, one is just rubbish and I only use it occasionally in the nets. Bought a new B3 at the of the season which will be my match bat and my old kahuna will become my Reserve after the Chairmen gives it a bit of tlc. What do people think is it better to have a few bats at different weights (the pros seems to have a few different weights for range hitting etc) ..https://youtu.be/ulo8af99Myk or find a spec and weight you are happy with and buy a few and rotate as you go?
Logged

GoodLeave

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1062
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #64 on: January 30, 2017, 10:04:01 PM »

I'm a big believer in using a heavier bat in pre-game nets (2.11 net, 2.7 match bat). I find my hand speed improves when I drop down the weight with my match bat.

Try not to net for too long with it though, if I get too used to the weight I find myself early on shots.
Logged

HallamKeeper

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #65 on: January 31, 2017, 09:17:21 AM »

I've kept my lighter bat for nets, I do an hour each week with a bowling machine and then club nets so I don't want to be swinging a big bat all the time. The only trouble I have is my match bat has a very square toe so feels different when I tap it down before a delivery. I'm thinking of getting it slightly rounded but not sure if that will ruin the bat.

I'd love to do range hitting before a game, not sure we have the balls for it though, I'd definitely use a bigger bat for that if it was only for a short time. I'm assuming most people on here, in England anyway, play on lowish wickets so don't need a range of bats with different middles?
Logged
The artist formerly known as CalverKeeper

Kez

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #66 on: January 31, 2017, 06:38:13 PM »

I'm not sure many pros have different weight bats- at least at the county level it didn't seem common.
Some batters rotated bats, some had a net bat and a match bat, others would use one til it broke. The pros are just like the rest of us. Some are kit geeks, others they don't care and would use anything.
Logged
kesoncricket.com

InternalTraining

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3936
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #67 on: February 01, 2017, 03:58:50 PM »

I've kept my lighter bat for nets, I do an hour each week with a bowling machine and then club nets so I don't want to be swinging a big bat all the time. The only trouble I have is my match bat has a very square toe so feels different when I tap it down before a delivery. I'm thinking of getting it slightly rounded but not sure if that will ruin the bat.

I'd love to do range hitting before a game, not sure we have the balls for it though, I'd definitely use a bigger bat for that if it was only for a short time. I'm assuming most people on here, in England anyway, play on lowish wickets so don't need a range of bats with different middles?

My experience is that I have benefitted from using same-weight bats in the nets as in the matches. If the net bats and match bats are the same shape, it is even better.
Logged

Seniorplayer

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6236
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #68 on: February 01, 2017, 07:35:54 PM »

I've kept my lighter bat for nets, I do an hour each week with a bowling machine and then club nets so I don't want to be swinging a big bat all the time. The only trouble I have is my match bat has a very square toe so feels different when I tap it down before a delivery. I'm thinking of getting it slightly rounded but not sure if that will ruin the bat.

I'd love to do range hitting before a game, not sure we have the balls for it though, I'd definitely use a bigger bat for that if it was only for a short time. I'm assuming most people on here, in England anyway, play on lowish wickets so don't need a range of bats with different middles?

I do the reverse range hit with heavier bat  find that doing so gives  faster bat speed with lighter  match bat.
Logged

DorsetDan

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2247
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #69 on: February 01, 2017, 08:01:54 PM »

Pretty much everything in the last few posts falls under the "it's all in the mind" category. Can't be underestimated though

I'll settle for finding one bat that scores runs. Maybe an identical backup when the season comes around and outdoor nets are damp. That said I already have 4 which are experiments in finding "the one" and I'm sure it will continue :)

Logged

edge

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3991
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #70 on: February 01, 2017, 08:23:55 PM »

I like the net (indoors) with a lighter bat as the wickets are going to be way slower and lower when you get outside early April/May theory.

Surely range hitting is pointless if done with a bigger or heavier bat than your match bat - be awkward if you found your range with the heavy bat and then got caught on the boundary because you're using a lighter one during the game?
Logged
HS: 156, BB: 7-20

adb club cricketer

  • County 1st XI
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 624
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #71 on: February 02, 2017, 12:20:26 AM »

I find it best if I use same bat in nets and match...if not same (as sometimes i want to protect my match bat/increase its life), i would prefer a net bat with same weight/shape etc as my match bat..
Logged

Chad

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2495
  • Trade Count: (+22)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #72 on: February 02, 2017, 01:54:18 AM »

Almost threw up when I took bats out to snap pics for the Bat Collections thread... Question was more "Why do you need 102 bats..."

I always like to have at least 2 match ready bats in case one breaks in the kitbag, the new Legend bag gives me room for 3. Tend to bring my main bat and then something I'd be happy to use in wetter weather. To be honest though, I don't think I've ever broken a bat in a match...
Logged

brokenbat

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1818
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #73 on: February 02, 2017, 01:59:22 AM »

Almost threw up when I took bats out to snap pics for the Bat Collections thread... Question was more "Why do you need 102 bats..."

I always like to have at least 2 match ready bats in case one breaks in the kitbag, the new Legend bag gives me room for 3. Tend to bring my main bat and then something I'd be happy to use in wetter weather. To be honest though, I don't think I've ever broken a bat in a match...

@Chad how about another sales thread then? You have enough to use a different bat every day of the season ;)
Logged

Aussiecollector

  • First XI Captain
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 193
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: "Why do you need more than one bat?"
« Reply #74 on: February 02, 2017, 04:49:20 AM »

Well he is a century maker with what he's got
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6
 

Advertise on CBF